My amazing Kentucky holiday :) - Reisverslag uit La Grange, Verenigde Staten van Marit Duivenvoorde - WaarBenJij.nu My amazing Kentucky holiday :) - Reisverslag uit La Grange, Verenigde Staten van Marit Duivenvoorde - WaarBenJij.nu

My amazing Kentucky holiday :)

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Marit

26 December 2016 | Verenigde Staten, La Grange

First of all, the Friday I left Houston, The Netherlands and Denmark had to play against each other in the European Championship semi-final in handball. Mathilde plays handball and really loves it so it was really cool, but of course we won, ghehehe :)

My butt hurt so much when I arrived in Dallas because sitting on the same seat for 5 hours is not fun… Kat, the oldest sister, who lives in Dallas with her husband Chris, picked me up from the Greyhound bus station and we went to their apartment. Chris and I played some weird guitar game on the Wii or Playstation or something and it was so much fun. I stayed the night at their house and the next morning around 6:30 am Kat brought me to the airport before she went to work.
My plane was planned on leaving at 12:30 pm so I was sitting at my gate for around 5 hours after I went to security. And of course they took my bag out of the security and checked it... I just read my 4th Harry Potter book and observed all the people who walked by for so many hours. Then finally I could board but they told my there wasn't enough space in the places above our heads in the plane for my hand luggage so I had to give it away... The flight was ok, but after I arrived I had no clue where to go to find my luggage. Arnolda and Kaj picked me up and it felt like we were waiting for hours at the baggage claim but I think it only was 15 minutes or so haha.

We picked up Finn from school and went home. Jip wasn't home yet because she had to work until 10 pm or something. But then finally she came and we slept in her room the whole week. The next day Jip and I went to Louisville to do a little shopping for her and we had some family time ordering lunch and watching tv :) They don't go to church so on Sunday I walked the dog, Izzy, with Paul and Arnolda. It was actually really cold, -10 degrees Celsius.... I wasn't prepared for that so I borrowed jackets and gloves but it was nice, finally felt like winter haha. When we came home everybody had to do their chores. Finn had to vacuum the rooms, Jip had to clean and Kaj had to do the bathrooms and I was just chilling doing nothing oops. We had a family coming for dinner that night. Their mom was German and I could really hear it in her accent so that was funny. They had 2 kids, Patrick and Sarah, and we just had a lot of fun with them. They have a ping pong table so we played games all night long, ate spaghetti and watched more Harry Potter movies, it was such a good night :)

The next day Jip and I thought it would be a good idea to spend some more money, and wow we did... We went to the mall together and I came back with 2 pairs of shoes, a new soccer short, a blouse, the best cozy sweater and more :) It was also really cold so every time we went outside a store we tried to run to another store because it's so freaking cold outside but amazing hot inside the stores. We spend the whole afternoon shopping and when we came back to the car we thought we would have to walk home... It has been so cold that all doors and locks were frozen. We couldn't open anything so we were trying to push and pull at all doors for like 10 minutes and then finally the driver’s door opened. So Jip went inside to push the passenger door and I tried to pull on the outside to get it open and after 20 minutes we finally were warm in the car on our way back home.

We had a family game night. We played the Dutch Party&Co and Taboo, that's kind of the same but then just the forbidden word and there are specific words you can't use. We played boys against girl with both games and the boys won twice, probably because they cheated pffff....

Then Jip, Kaj and I watched 2 movies but we were all so tired that we fell asleep during the second movie on the couch. We woke up when the film ended around 2 am or something so we went upstairs but because we just slept a little bit Jip and I weren't tired at all. We were so awake that we decided to go down stairs and get something to drink around 4 am. We didn't sleep until half past 5 I think and we woke up way too early so we were really tired that day…

Jip had to get her full license so we did that the next day and went to another mall. Not spending money that day ;) We also played Twister and that was just the best, such a small game but so much fun!
After dinner we had to go to Walmart because Jip needed and ugly Christmas sweater for her work. We spent approximately 2 hours in Walmart walking around doing nothing and we came back with nothing but some candy and face masks hahaha, we failed our mission.

On Wednesday I spend the whole day on making my Secret Santa. I had Kaj and I made a beer tap because he makes his own beer at his college. Because I am a mean Santa, I took all the left over from the fridge, mixed them together and hide the present in it so he would have dirty hands finding his present ghehehe. We went to a sushi restaurant that night, Rikishi. Jip works there so she served us that night. It was really good, I haven't eaten sushi for way too long. When we came home Jip showed me her paycheck for 2 weeks. It was $1,12...... How?!?!? It said she worked 32 hours. I couldn't believe it. She gets a lot of tips though but still.

The next day was the big day. We did our Secret Santa's. A late Sinterklaas and an early Christmas :) Arnolda made a dress for me because I don't like wearing dresses haha. Finn made an ear for Arnolda because she never hears what he says or somethings. Paul made a traffic board with speed limit on it for Jip because she once got pulled over for speeding... Jip made a huge wallet for Finn because he lost his so now he would have a big one so he wouldn't lose it again hahahaha. And Kaj made a board game for Paul, because he always has his own rules at games so Kaj created a game with 'Dad's rules' so he would win the game no matter what :) It was such an amazing night we had so much fun and we laughed a lot. Izzy also wanted to join so she just kept stepping on all the presents, but it was funny haha. At last Arnolda and Paul got some more presents for the kids, it was so sweet. They gave Jip and Kaj washing soap for college, Finn candy and me Hagelslag and measuring cups so I can make the American recipes when I go back home :)

Friday was my last day and we made Pepernoten, well, we tried… You need 'speculaaskruiden' for the recipe but we're in the US so we don't have that. Then we found a recipe to make your own 'speculaaskruiden' with all other kinds of spices but we used way to many gloves so the Pepernoten were really bad... We had fun making it though :)

I already had to say goodbye to Kaj and Finn that night because they weren't going with us to the airport. Saturday morning Arnolda and Jip brought me to the airport and I had such a hard time saying goodbye because I know I will not see them for like 2,5 years... But we had 2 amazing holidays this year and I am so glad we have good friends like them, I am really going to miss them so much.

The flight back home was ok and then I took the taxi to the Greyhound bus station in Dallas and the taxi man was so nice. We had a whole conversation on the way and he told me I couldn't leave the bus station because that was the bad side of Dallas or something and I look to foreign. Do I did that. I just waited at the bus station and traveled with the bud for 5 hours again back home. Once I arrived in Hosuton, mom and Jake were waiting for me and I had missed them so much. We went home and I saw the family. It was so good to see everybody and then finally I saw Mathilde again, wooohoo reunited!!
I will tell y'all about my other American experiences such as Christmas in my next blog :)

Bye byeeee

  • 27 December 2016 - 00:28

    :

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Marit

Welkom op mijn blog! Vanaf hier kun je al mijn avonturen meebeleven samen met mij. Ik ga een half jaar op stage in het buitenland, eerst 3 maanden naar de Filipijnen en daarna 3 maaanden naar Brazilie! (Ik ga namelijk een jaar High School volgen in Amerika!! De leukste dingen die ik meemaak en dat gene dat me voor altijd bij zal blijven zal ik hier vertellen. Het wordt een geweldig jaar met geweldige mensen! :))

Actief sinds 29 Mei 2016
Verslag gelezen: 405
Totaal aantal bezoekers 100351

Voorgaande reizen:

24 Augustus 2019 - 15 November 2019

Filipijnse stage bij NORFI

01 Augustus 2016 - 01 Juli 2017

Een jaar High School in Amerika!

Landen bezocht: